Dream of the Red Chamber

Xiang Li was the first Chinese artist to complete all 413 characters from the famous novel, Dream of the Red Chamber. This project took her 10 years to complete between 1975-85.

What is the Dream of the Red Chamber?

An introduction

Dream of the Red Chamber (红楼梦), or The Story of the Stone (石头记), is the greatest masterpiece of Chinese classical novels of the Ming and Qing dynasties with the most profound influence on later generations. The work is comprised of 120 chapters, the first 80 of which were written by Tsao Hsueh-chin and the remaining 40 by Kao Hgo.

Selected Characters from the Original Collection (1975-1985)

The original collection released in 1985 contains 413 characters from the Dream of the Red Chamber

See all 413 characters from this collection

Jinling’s Twelve Beauties

“Twelve Beauties of Jinling” refer to the twelve excellent ladies in Dream of the Red Chamber, namely, Lin Daiyu, Xue Baochai, Shi Xiangyun, Wang Xifeng, Jia Yingchun, Jia Xichun, Jia Yuanchun, Jia Tanchun, Qin Keqing, Li Wan, Miao Yu, and Jia Qiaojie.

Explore Main Characters through D-ID Speaking Portraits

Learn about these characters through speaking portraits created from these original paintings created by Xiang Li

Jia Mu

Shi Xiangyun

wang xifeng

Wang Xifeng

jia bao yu thumbnail

Jia Baoyu